Caleb Nwanorim

Posted by & filed under Make a Dream Come True.

Hi! My name is Caleb Nwanorim,

Everyone who knows me calls me Caleb or super awesome K! I’m 7 years old and going on 8 years on September 29th.  I enjoy swimming, cooking, going to school, playing board games, and visiting grandma who is my favorite person in the whole world. Its mostly me, my mother and my annoying sister Ella. Shes 5 and of course my best friend when moms around.

I have autism and developmental disabilities. I enjoy my therapies which i have twice a week at home with my speech therapist and my occupational Therapist. I have been receiving help  with speech and O.T at school everyday for close to 3 years now. I also have increased anxiety due to trauma at school such as being bullied and not being able to talk effectively. My mom is my greatest advocate and fully supports my need to have a service animal. Not only for my disability but because I’m lonely and I need a friend to help me reduce my anxiety and to help me practice my social skills so i can be able to make friends and as well as communicate effectively to others.  

 My speech and language impairments negatively impact my ability to understand and be understood by others when communicating, which frustrates me and increases my anxiety. I also have additional characteristics of anxiety such as issues with social communication, difficulty adapting to new environment, awareness of danger, and difficulty with emotional stability. Having a companion would greatly benefit me because my companion would decrease my overall anxiety and to help me function effectively and independently across settings. I am also unable to complete ADL’s which are also known as activities of daily living due to anxiety symptoms and communication deficits and requires me to get assistance from my mom to help me meet my basic needs several times throughout the day and night like getting dressed. Also having a service animal from 4 Paws for Ability would provide and assist me with safety behavior intervention and prevention of anxiety attacks and meltdowns at home and and in public. Having a best friend around me can provide a soothing and comfortable environment just by spending time. It is a reminder to myself to be patient and calm with myself and others and that I am not alone with my disability. I can also practice communication with a service dog. And finally I will be able to have responsibility by taking care of my friend this will teach me to be more independent and confident inside and outside of my own environment.
My mother Cydnee is trying to get donations for me to get a service dog through 4 Paws for Ability. Please donate to my cause. Thank you for taking the time to read my story.

4 Paws is a non-profit organization (501 3c). 4 Paws for Ability service dogs are trained from birth for a specific person. The cost to train and place these dogs with a disabled child is at least $40,000. Families approved for matching must raise their portion. The required portion for Caleb’s service companion is $17,000. They say, “dogs are a man’s best friend”, and I believe that Caleb will not only have a service dog but a best friend for life which will allow him take on everyday life challenges, all while giving him the independence he desires and deserves as he grows up.

I am planning fundraisers with hopes of raising  $17,000 soon. The wait time is 2 to 2.5 years due to the nature of the extensive training and the number of kids who need a service companion. If you would like to donate in Caleb’s efforts to raise the money needed, you can donate 3 different ways.

By mail – checks made out to 4 Paws for Ability with Caleb Nwanorim on the memo line
Mail to:
4 Paws for Ability
207 Dayton Ave.
Xenia OH 45385

Online
https://4pawsforability.org/donate-now
include Caleb Nwanorim in your Authorize.Net payment.

Phone
credit card donations can be made at (937) 374-0385 Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST